This carefully renovated and uniquely stone historic home is beautifully set on one of the largest lots within the City of Brunswick. It backs to a dedicated, wooded open space with a creek and is within walking distance to both the middle and high schools, and just minutes to daily commuter MARC trains. Featuring many amenities including municipal water and sewer, a 3 season gazebo, original springhouse with natural spring, and over-sized 2-car garage, gorgeous gourmet kitchen, wood floors, 4 bedrooms (2 are suites) and more, this storybook stone home has been meticulously maintained and lovingly restored with fine preservation in mind.
"The 'hangover Georgian' style of architecture executed in fieldstone, testifies to the skill and knowledge of the unknown craftsmen of that era. Its location in an area of natural springs tells the observer that the builder was both practical and resourceful. The transition of the use of the house from country house, to working-farm cottage, to present city residence, demonstrates that well-built structures of good design can be adapted to many uses. Being well preserved and the only completely stone house within the city boundaries, it stands as a unique monument to the achievements and lifestyle of its past owners." (Maryland Historical Trust)
Milton H. Cannon House Significance (Maryland Historical Trust)
The Milton H. Cannon House is significant as the only stone house within the town of Brunswick and is a good example of vernacular Colonial Revival construction in the early 20th century. When built, the Cannon House was in a rural location, although in the Cannon Addition to Brunswick, platted by Thomas J. Cannon in 1890. His son Milton erected the house, apparently as a summer residence with a working farm. Probably because of the longer construction time for stone houses, the typical houses built during Brunswick's building boom from 1890 to the 1930's were frame, although local stone was readily available. The Cannon House represents a more leisurely approach to housing that was uncommon in the town during this period. The decorative details such as the broken pediment and the interior trim work are evidence of Cannon's desire to emulate the authentic historical details of local vernacular houses, which were probably considered "colonial", although the details were used locally in the late Georgian, Federal, and Greek Revival periods.
Thomas J. Cannon's Addition was the project of the Mutual Land and Improvement Company, of which Cannon was president. Laid out over 160 acres with 600 lots, the addition did not approach full development until the mid-20th century, probably due both to economic factors and the steep valleys and hills common throughout the parcel. When Cannon died intestate in 1910, his real estate holdings were sold off, leaving 20 acres surrounding the Cannon House, which passed to the Michael family. By 1938, only 1-1/2 acres remained of the property. Further information on the previous owners of the Cannon House may be found in the 1974 National Register nomination form, at the Maryland SHPO and the Frederick County Department of Planning and Zoning.
HistoricProperties.com is your source to buy or sell historic real estate - from projects to completed renovations, residential to commercial, Federal to Eclectic.